Happy Independence

Long time ago, in a galaxy not so far away, I used to be an active blogger. Back in the day, when LiveJournal was where everyone was at, I blogged almost daily. There was an awesome kidlit author community there, and I loved it. Things have changed. So have I.

I’m not going to lie. I miss it. I miss the community of up and coming writers seeking agents, getting deals, celebrating debut books. The thrill of reading from the sidelines about their process and living vicariously through their efforts. It gave me hope.

Something happened. Not sure what. I left LJ, got fed up with the rejections, the lack of progress, and constantly feeling like I never really fit in. (That’s a pervasive feeling and has more to do with me than any writing community.) Eventually, I chose a different path and tried my hand at self-publishing. Perhaps not the smartest decision when it comes to writing for kids. But lessons learned. I’m all the better for it. (I have lots of thoughts about that path but sometimes I feel we’re not allowed to talk negatively about indie publishing. People only want to hear the success stories, not the failures.) Anyway, I’m back to writing for kids where I feel I belong. My voice, writing style, interests are suited for younger audiences. And knowing that feels liberating.

Author:

Human being extraordinaire, almost.

Leave a Reply

