I’m so wishy-washy

There’s no denying that I needed to take a step back from the self-publishing world to get a better sense of what I want from this writing career of mine. The time away has made me feel better about writing again, helped me to figure out what I really want to write, and has given me confidence to say, f*ck it to all the mantras out there.

Yes, I’ll write to market, but first I’ll write for myself. If I’m going spend so much time on a book, why would I want to slog through something I’m only marginally interested in writing, holding the belief that I’m only doing it for the money.

No, I don’t want to write a book a month or any more than two books a year. I know it can be done, but I’m just not that kind of writer. That mentality has brought me to the burnt-out state I’m in right now.

No, I’m not going to play Amazon’s game. They’re not the only store in town. (Although, if these other guys don’t get their shit together, that’s how it’s going to be, and I don’t want that.)

All that being said, I’m gathering my thoughts, coming up with a production schedule, and story ideas. Of course, I’ve said this before so many times and that leaves me with a belly full of lulz. *cough* I’ll continue searching for an agent for the middle-grade book, but I’m leaving my options wide open for that. There are many things I love about being indie. Control is one of them. So, we’ll see.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some ass to kick today.

Author:

Human being extraordinaire, almost.

Leave a Reply

